All bikes must have working brakes. If you are riding at night the bike must have a white front light visible at least 500 feet and a red reflector on the rear visible from 50 feet to 300 feet. The ticket for failing to obey is $70.00.
Rules of the Road
1- The number of people on the bike, can not be more than the number the bike was built for. That means no kids on the handle bars.
2- Bikes must obey all the same traffic laws as cars, always on the far right side of the road. When you are riding within a 15 miles per hour zone, and you can maintain that speed, take the whole lane. It’s safer for you and easier for cars to see, you, your hand signals, and your inspirational vehicle of choice. And yes, speed limits apply and you can get a ticket for riding over.
3- On highways a max of 2 bikes abreast unless you are on a bike only path.
Tickets for moving violations start at $115.00.
4- Don’t ride on sidewalks, and always yield to pedestrians.
Nevada State Laws can be found at Nevada State Legislature web site.
There’s an old Municipal Code 6.18.200 that indicates at least in the mid to late-1990’s there was a bike licensing program in Reno and its still on the books, however, this seems to have been nixed by 2000. It’s a good idea to keep a file on your bike at home with the receipt and serial number.
If your bike is stolen
You can report it online. Be sure to include your serial number. The report is then filed with the National Crime Information Center (NCIC) and if it’s found anywhere in the US it will eventually find its way back to you.
As an added bonus, every Wednesday the police dept. visits all pawn shops in Reno and checks the serial numbers of bikes there. If you do the leg work and find your bike at a pawn shop and did NOT report it stolen, you will still have to file a police report and provide additional info proving it’s your bike and to get it back without having to buy it.